fb tw

Planning Commissioners Years of Service

August 4, 2020 | More News

We regularly see changes in the membership of the Planning Commission as terms expire and new ones begin.

Service typically lasts four years, but many commissioners serve more than once, dedicating countless hours to the job. Because of this regular rotation, we need to take a moment to recognize and appreciate the time and effort that our departing members have put into their volunteer posts.

This July, Art Clancy completed the second-longest continuous term of service for all members in the nearly 65-year history of the Planning Commission, dedicating 16 years.

His tenure was topped only by William Cole, who served for 21 years from 1956-1977.

Art is President and CEO of Clancy Custom Woodworking LLC and has served on both the Knoxville Remodelers Council and Homebuilders Association of Greater Knoxville. Art first joined the Planning Commission in 2004 when he was appointed by Mayor Bill Haslam. He served two terms for the city, from 2004-2012, and then took on a county appointment under Mayor Tim Burchett. He recently completed a second term for Knox County, rounding out his 16th year and bringing to an end his membership.

Another commissioner with a noteworthy record of service is Richard Graf. He is currently serving in his 18th year. Richard is a retired home builder and developer, past president of both the Knoxville and Tennessee Home Builders Associations, and an active community member.

His three separate appointments have spanned more than 30 years, giving him a deep understanding of issues and cases that come before the group.

His first appointment was from 1987-1995, then again from 2001-2009, and he is currently serving in a term that began in 2018. During his tenure, he has served as both chair and vice chair.

We're grateful for the unique insight and perspective these veteran commissioners bring to the table, and for their extended commitment to the agency and our community. The consideration they give to cases that come before them help guide the entire Commission and ensure we are preserving unique community characteristics while encouraging good, smart development.

The Planning Commission is an advisory board made up of 15 citizens, seven of which are appointed by the City Mayor and eight by the County Mayor. They come from a variety of backgrounds and represent a broad spectrum of community interests and concerns. They volunteer their time, serving staggered four-year terms.